Higashiyama 10,000 step hiking track

Hoping to spend a pleasant day wondering through the Higashiyama Zoo and Botanical Gardens, I was a little disheartened to see the gates closed firmly when I arrived, with no sign of them opening. A little local man explained to me that a lot of tourist attractions were closed on Monday and suggested I try the 10,000 step hiking track which he sometimes uses for exercise instead … I had nowhere to be so why not!

Starting point

He led me from the starting point to the next point which took the track from road to bush. Here we parted ways for him to go home and for me to try and find my way along this beaten trail. Some parts of it were so beautiful, you could almost have forgotten you were in the middle of the city. There were quite a few stairs, which gave me flashbacks to the 100km walk I did last year, but the view from the top of some points was incredible! You could stand at the top and overlook the city … I think I was looking back over Sakae and Nagoya.

View view from the top

It took me about 1.5 hours to do the whole track, but that was with a leg brace and stopping to take photos. It’s pretty easy to navigate the hike without knowing Japanese – there are white arrow signs the entire way showing which way to go, aswell as maps scattered along the track with recognisable landmarks showing where you are.

Maps along the course

If you are into hiking and outdoors, I’d definitely recommend visiting this track. It’s only about 15 minutes on the subway from Nagoya and starts probably 300 metres from the subway exit. If it’s a lovely day it heats up pretty quickly in the bush areas so I’d suggest wearing layers. Today was 17 degrees celsius but with the sun and no wind I got quite hot and was fine in just jeans and a t-shirt.

Scenery shot

If I get homesick this is where you’ll find me … Spending some time outdoors hiking like I loved to do at home!

Me enjoying the sun
To get there from Nagoya, take the Higashiyama subway line to Higashiyama Koen.

One thought on “Higashiyama 10,000 step hiking track

Leave a Reply

