10 things I’ve learnt about me…

Being away from everyone and having time to myself has really made me think about where I was in my life back home, where I am now, and where I want to be in the future. I have no idea where I want to be in the future but as a part of this evaluation process I’ve come across 10 things that I’ve learnt about me in my 38 days abroad.

1. I let people at home influence me too easily
One of the things I love about being abroad and meeting new people is they know nothing about me. They have no power to influence who I am, no way to manipulate me by pulling on heart strings and no way to set the scene of who they think I am and/or should be. I can be 100% me!!

2. I talk a lot!!
Unfortunately for my new friend Luke, I have realised I talk A LOT! I don’t remember talking this much back home but it seems that since I’ve been away I have so much to say. My mind and mouth are going 100 miles an hour.. I’m challenging myself to talk less this month.

3. I’ve given myself permission to change the way I think
I read a quote recently about how it doesn’t matter where we go as long as we give ourselves the opportunity to think in a new way. Moving abroad has helped me realise we make it so hard to change ourselves, our routines and our way of thinking when we get bogged down in everyday life. I now try to appreciate something in a new way each day to change my way of thinking, see things in a new light and stop dwelling on any negatives that may come up.

4. I love teaching
I don’t know if this particular position is somewhere I could stay for a long period of time, but teaching is something I definitely have a passion for. I love spending time with the kids every day, love it when they pick up on something you’re trying to teach and most of all just love that it is so much fun!

5. I like to improvise
Living in a strange city with the bare minimum in my apartment has become a bit of a game to me. I love the challenge of figuring new things out – how am I going to make coffee with just a frying pan?

6. Everything really does happen for a reason
I’ve found myself here after being burnt by dysfunctional relationships over the past years. At the time I thought I would never get over them, but I think it has all made me a stronger person. I still think I trust people too easily, but I’ve taken my emotions which I am still sorting through and am learning more than ever about myself!

7. I don’t like bidets
I’ve travelled through several countries and have never used one, but having one in my apartment I decided to give it a go, after all you have to try everything once! Needless to say, this was an experience I won’t be trying again.

8. It’s ok to have lazy days
How many of us take the time to just relax and chill out for a day without that guilty feeling ‘oh I should be doing that thing’? I’ve now learnt to love those days. I make my plan as I go along, have no guilt that I didn’t get something on the list done, and feel so relaxed and happy!

9. I can do anything I put my mind to
I used to think I could I could do anything I set out to do, now I have proof. Not only was moving out of home and moving overseas a challenge, but so was changing careers and facing all of this on my own (to name a few things). If I set myself a challenge I make sure I give it my all and do as much as I can to succeed!

10. And… as Kevin from home alone would say, I’m not afraid anymore!
I’m not afraid of being alone anymore. I am no longer trying to clutter my life with ‘stuff’ – be it materials or people. I’ve definitely felt lonely at times, but I am so happy with where I am currently at.

20140401-000202.jpg

One thought on “10 things I’ve learnt about me…

  1. There are those who fail to see that they have choices in their life, and many of those who do often find a reason to resist change…..and then there are those, for whatever reason, who choose to take the ‘journey’. Enjoy the journey.

Leave a Reply

