LIEBSTER AWARDS!

With finishing up my teaching job in Japan and preparing for my move back home I haven’t had much time to post. Last month I was nominated for the  Liebster Award, an award you are nominated for by fellow bloggers.

Thanks for the nomination Flick, it’s great to know that a fellow blogger, friend and someone who is walking through similar stages of life as me likes to check out what I have to say. Looking forward to seeing what else you have to say on DistractedFlick.

Here are my answers to Flick’s questions…

What has been your favourite travel experience so far?

I have so many favourite travel experiences, I know this goes against the definition of favourite, but everywhere is so new and has so many opportunities to learn. But If I could narrow it down, I would have to choose two favourite experiences. One being Oktoberfest in 2014. They are not joking when they say this is the happiest place in the world. Filled with beer, laughter, music, dancing and friendship there is not a soul who doesn’t enjoy this event. Not only do you get to have a great time with other foreigners, you meet lots of locals and have the opportunity to learn about Germany from their experiences…if you’re lucky enough they will take you on a tour of Munich too!

My other favourite would be Turkey with my parents. I have said this before, but my parents are definitely two of my favourite people to travel with. We shared so many great experiences and laughs, from them refusing offers from men trying to swap me for camels, to them making me belly dance in the traditional cave dinner show we attended in Cappadocia. They are more adventurous than some of my friends, always up for a hike, a drink or two, an adventure and love a good jumping photo!

What has been the biggest learning curve while being away?

My biggest learning curve was learning that I am strong enough to be alone. Without my friends, without a boyfriend and mainly without my family. I moved to Japan in 2014 thinking I wouldn’t last long without my support network, but I learnt I am strong enough to manage everything on my own. Sure there were hard times but they’re not the end of the world!

What are you most looking forward to in 2015?

I am looking forward to new adventures. I’m back in Sydney for a while, but that hasn’t stopped me dreaming and planning new adventures. I’m looking forward to hopefully making it to New Zealand and the Philippines, while making up for time missed with family and friends during the 14 months I was away.

Where were you exactly one year ago today? (Geographically)

Exactly one year ago I was in Nagoya, Japan.

With reference to the question above – What were you doing exactly one year ago today?

I was teaching English to kids aged between 0 and 13. Pretty happy I don’t have to sing the ‘hello song’ any more!

What is your biggest travel regret?

Not going to more Onsens (hot springs) in Japan. There’s nothing more liberating than bathing naked with everyone, no judgement, no worries!  Oh and not learning Japanese better while spending 14 months there.

Why do you blog?

I blog to reflect and to share my stories with other people. One of the main sources of travel information I use is blogs, so I think it is useful to share my stories. Also to keep everyone back ‘home’ updated where I am and what I’m doing so I don;t have to repeat my story 100 times!

If you could visit one place right now – where would you go?

I would love to go to Argentina… or anywhere in South America really. Ever since I visited Peru with my parents in 2011 I have fallen in love with South America and have wanted to take 6-12 months to backpack through the different countries, eating all the delicious local specialities, trying the local drinks making friends with locals, and practising my bad Spanish.

If you could give one piece of life advice to other travellers, what would you say?

Don’t just walk the beaten tracks, go exploring and find the spots that aren’t listed in the tourist books but most of all have fun!

What was your ultimate highlight of 2014?

There’s too many to count! One highlight would definitely be going on a hot air balloon ride with my dad in Cappadocia, Turkey, watching the sun rise.

Who is your favourite blogger right now?

I’ve been really bad lately and haven’t been reading as much as I would like – mainly just skimming Twitter and clicking through to the articles that look like I would like them. One travel digital magazine I have always loved is Kiss From the World, which hosts articles from all different bloggers.

To keep this great peer award going I would like to nominate WanderlustofDill and Journeys of a Scrapbooker.

These are my questions for you:

1. Why do you love to travel?

2. When you plan your trips, what are the top three things you consider?

3. When you are in a country, how do you prefer to get from city to city?

4. What inspires you to blog?

5. What is your main source of travel inspiration?

6. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

7. What would you tell someone who is travelling for the first time?

8. Do you prefer to travel solo, or with someone and why?

9. How much do you rely on social media when you are travelling?

10. What do you use to take your photos when travelling

11. What is your favourite travel experience to date?

Rules:

“Thank the blogger who nominated you, and include a link to their blog. Provide answers to the eleven questions from that person. Give nominations to other bloggers, who are new or have less than 200 followers. Ask them eleven new questions. Let them know about their nominations, so that they can proceed with the award process.”

2 thoughts on “LIEBSTER AWARDS!

  1. Emma! This is great!!! I think it’s so awesome that you ventured out to Japan solo and made it work! And, more than simply ‘making it work’, I really admire that you got out there and explored and had fun. I think that’s so brave and inspiring 🙂

Leave a Reply

