En route…

I always thought doing things on my own, like going to the movies or dining alone at a restaurant, would be liberating. Now, I am sitting on the plane en route to live in Japan on my own for 6 months… Not quite what I originally thought I’d be doing to test my limits!

One torn ligament, a squeaky leg brace (yes, I forgot to put WD-40 on it) and my 17 kilo pack. This is it.

After having a teary goodbye with the family, I sat there thinking:

They say life is too short to not explore the world and take every opportunity possible to test yourself and learn new things about yourself, other cultures and new places. But then is life to short to leave the most precious things you have behind for more than a whole year?

I’ve decided the answer is no. Despite the tears I am so excited to test myself. It will be tough at times, but who would want to live a boring easy life without any challenges?!

I’ve already learnt so much about myself in the weeks leading up to leaving. With a fresh injury complicating things it has been tough at times, but now I definitely know that I am capable of anything I set my heart and mind to.

For now, I’ll sit back and enjoy the flight with some of my fave tunes. This is no longer a trip I sit and daydream about. This is the real deal… this is now my life for the next 14 months!

20140222-093830.jpg

One thought on “En route…

  1. You will love every second Em. Even the tough moments are great because you are doing it! Living the dream! I would say good luck but you won’t need it. Enjoy and can’t wait to read all about it x

Leave a Reply

